RHR234 - Bright Morning Stars - The Wailin' Jennys

Bright Morning Stars

"BRIGHT MORNING STARS is filled with irresistible ingredients: lyrics that speak to life's mysteries, superb musicianship, and elegant, evocative music.  Simply, when the Jennys blend their voices, it stops my heart."- Mary Chapin Carpenter

"fresh and exciting... first-class music"-Vintage Guitar

Bright Morning Stars is a sparkling collection of heart-filled songs that speak to the world around us and the heavens above. The album takes its name from a traditional tune that The Jennys cover--a beautiful a capella tune about the passing of loved ones. Like this ethereal title track, many of the songs are about searching for what has been lost, whether it's a once-whole heart, a lover gone or family that is far away. From the soulful pop of "Swing Low Sail High" to the gut-busting gospel of "Storm Comin'" to the sultry jazz of "Cherry Blossom Love," the album sparkles with a light and energy that is "guaranteed to soothe your soul with its unique blend of earthy passion and heartfelt compassion" (Creem). Even amidst songs about loss, there is a quiet elation underpinning the album and is present in such tracks as "Bird Song" (a fan favorite with lyrics co-written by Heather Masse and Nicky Mehta), giving hope and courage to weary souls and broken hearts.

All three band members--Ruth Moody, Nicky Mehta< and Heather Masse--contribute to the twelve original songs, singing and playing a variety of instruments (acoustic guitar, accordion, banjo, ukulele) to create a shimmering tapestry of rich vocals and instrumentals. Joining The Jennys are Canada's finest session players, including Bill Dillon (Joni Mitchell, Peter Gabriel), Kevin Breit (Norah Jones), Colin Cripps (Kathleen Edwards), Richard Moody (The Bills) and frequent Jennys sideman Jeremy Penner on fiddle. Recorded in a cottage near Haliburton, Ontario, Bright Morning Stars has a warm, intimate quality, as if The Jennys were singing their celestial songs just for you. A dazzling mix of Americana, pop and traditional folk, Bright Morning Stars is certain to be an instant classic.

Tour Schedule  Biography  Press Photo  

Order by phone at 1-800-695-4687

Buy Now!  Find a Store!   

Track Listing

   01 - Swing Low Sail High - The Wailin' Jennys

   02 - All the Stars - The Wailin' Jennys

   03 - Bird Song - The Wailin' Jennys

   04 - Away But Never Gone - The Wailin' Jennys

   05 - Storm Comin' - The Wailin' Jennys

   06 - Mona Louise - The Wailin' Jennys

   07 - Bright Morning Stars - The Wailin' Jennys

   08 - Across the Sea - The Wailin' Jennys

   09 - Asleep at Last - The Wailin' Jennys

   10 - What Has Been Done - The Wailin' Jennys

   11 - Cherry Blossom Love - The Wailin' Jennys

   12 - You Are Here - The Wailin' Jennys

   13 - Last Goodbye - The Wailin' Jennys